Excel 2016 Get data from PDF missing

Copper Contributor

Hi all,

I'm using Excel 2016 on Windows 10, and I find that I don't have the option to get external data from PDF. Any idea what could be the issue here? 

cherish6000_0-1599030619531.png

38 Replies
This functionality is only available to Office 365 subscribers I'm afraid.

@Jan Karel Pieterse 

I have a full subscription to office 365 and yet the option from get data>From File>From PDF is not available to

office 365b.JPG

me. so I should ask the question  - is it an add on?

@cherish6000 

Import data from a PDF into Excel
You have a PDF file in front of you and would like to transfer data from it to Excel. There are two ways of doing this. In both cases, however, it must be a searchable PDF document, i.e. one in which the texts are available as texts - and not as an image, for example. Second, the creator of the PDF must not have applied any technical restrictions, such as a ban on copying data from it.
Trick for marking and copying: In common PDF viewers (e.g. Foxit Reader and Adobe Acrobat Reader DC) there is a problem when marking table contents in PDFs. Let's say you don't want all the data from this PDF, just a single column. If you start marking, you will notice that your PDF viewer marks all the line contents, see e.g. the lines marked in blue in the following screenshot.
There is, however, a shortcut that allows a surprising number of programs to be selected in columns. Press and hold the two keys Alt + Shift (Alt + Shift) with your left hand while using your right hand to highlight the numbers in the desired column using the mouse. As you can see, this allows vertical marking without including the columns on the left and right in the selection.