SOLVED

Dynamic template in Excel?

Copper Contributor

Background

I have a gamification project going with my poker stuying and I would like to create an Excel file that is similar to old text-based games. I want a menu and a character panel (showing progression) to follow me on every sheet within that Excel file. I think that what I want is a dynamic template(?) but I am open to other suggestions as I have no previous experience with Excel at all.

Questions

• Is it possible to have a template that is similar in every work sheet, but also have unique information? In the picture below I want 1 (the menu), 2 (the header), 3 (the character panel) and 4 (the empty box of start date) to be the template that every work sheet has. 1,2, and 3 will look similar in all work sheets, but 4 will have a text and pictures that is unique to that work sheet.

• Is it also possible to update this template later so that it automatically updates the template in all the other work sheets? I might want to make the menu smaller or bigger, add more pictures and information in the character panel/progression part later. When updating the template will it erase all the unique information in 4?

Is it clear what I want to achieve?

Additional information

Windows 10

Microsoft 365 App for enterprise

Version 2106 (14131.20320)

Included Excel screenshot (not sure if I should include the actual file?)

I also read (https://techcommunity.microsoft.com/t5/excel/using-a-sheet-as-a-dynamic-master-template-for-other-sh...) but I do not think I got the answer I wanted there.

2 Replies

@TarekGG 

You wrote: Is it clear what I want to achieve?

To which I must reply "No!" Maybe it'd be clear to someone who shares your experience with "old text-based games" but it isn't to someone who doesn't, at least not this someone.