Duplicate Columns

Copper Contributor

So, I'm new to using Excel and I've been trying to figure something out. I'm doing an Excel sheet of people who donated to a fund with their names and the amount they donated.

My issue is there are about 5,000 rows of people and most of these are duplicates names. (For example, if their name is John Smith their name will come up multiple times if they donated multiple times) Their names are column "A" and the amount they donated is column B.

The donation totals are supposed to be aggregated (that if someone made separate donations I add them together and just have one line per individual- with their total) Is therean easier way to do this without having to manually add all the donations?

I'm trying to add up John Smith's for example donation totals without having to do it all by hand. I didn't know if Excel was able to add these totals together for individual people. The screenshot isn't the actual Excel sheet I'm doing, just an example I made up. Thanks for any help.Screen Shot 2020-11-23 at 5.10.36 PM.png

7 Replies

@RileyTim184 The easiest way out would be to use a Pivot Table. See the attached workbook for a working example.

Screenshot 2020-11-25 at 07.35.46.png

Search the web for many resources to learn more about Pivot Tables.

@RileyTim184 

If you are using Excel 365, there are some newish worksheet functions that will also do the job.  Given the two columns 'name' and 'donation', a list of distinct names is given by the formula

= UNIQUE(name)

and then the donations for each distinct name are given by

= SUMIFS(donations, name, distinct#)

[Note: If the name 'distinct' is applied to the first cell containing the formula, 'distinct#' will be its spilt range)

@Riny_van_Eekelen Oh great thank you! I didn't know I could do this. Very helpful.

Thank you for your help! I will try this out.

@Riny_van_Eekelen 

I'm trying to figure out the Pivot table and I'm having a little trouble.