Dividing a number over a given number of cells with one or no remainder

Copper Contributor

I work as a professional pyrotechnician.

For each display event I have a given number of cues, and a time period in minutes.

In the past, I've usually divided the number of cues, but the number of minutes and the result is the number of cues that are fired in a given minute. For example:
150 cues / 25 minutes = 6 cues a minute.

Sometimes, the division doesn't come out nice and even like the example before.

In a recent display event, it was 150 cues during a 22 minutes.  That comes out to 6.8181....

I'm looking for a method using formulas that would display a whole integer number (can't cut the pyrotechnics in half) of cues for each minute, such that it would balance the remainder over the course of the minutes, rather than dump a large remainder at the end.

For instance...

If I use the second example: 150 cues / 22 minutes = 6.8181.... Most minutes are going to be 7 cues, but there will be a few 6 cue minutes - four in this case. A formula that would fill 22 cells, with the spread such that the cues/minute intervals are more or less balanced over the entire display duration.  If four, six cue minute segments are thrown in, then things will balance out evenly.

Can excel do this and balance it out evenly?

Thanks,

DK Speirs

4 Replies

@SD40T-2 

This is quite fascinating. I'm pretty sure that you are speaking of fireworks displays, right? Where, may I ask, are you doing this? I have a summer home along the New Jersey (US) shore, so may have seen some of your handiworks (if that's where you operate).

Anyway, although I find your question fascinating, and I love elegant stand-alone (let Excel do it all) solutions, my practical mind wonders if you're not maybe making things more complicated here than you need to.