SOLVED

Disabling and re enabling Spinners controls in 2010 and setting the count back to zero.

Copper Contributor

Hi all,

I am novice with anything to do with excel, most self taught.

Right my question is, can a a non Active X control spinner be disabled and then reactivated and the count reset to zero.
I am using the way that is shown on a few Youtube videos.

Have found a way to enable disable my count from the spinner, however if I click the spinner when disabled it will still count up or down. plus when I re enable the line, it returns the count that the spinner was last at, not zero as I would like.

plus a cannot see or find a way to set the spinner back to zero.

Its possible that it can't be done with from control, and only use Active X controls and VBA. 

if the later I going to have to learn VBA too.

13 Replies

@Stereone find attached a simple demo of what I am trying to do, first sheet shows the count with spinners, second sheet has the Enabled N/A status.

What I am trying to do is when the input line show N/A there no input and the spinner should not go up or down which it does, would like to set it to zero when showing N/A.

Here hoping something to look might help understand the problem.

Cheers. 

best response confirmed by Stereone (Copper Contributor)
Solution

@Stereone 

See the attached version. It is now a macro-enabled workbook, so you'll have to allow macros when you open it.

To inspect the code, right-click the sheet tab and select 'View Code' from the context menu.

Thank you just what I wanted, cheers, 

bet you guess what I am about ask now!
How do I this for 100 row so I know which active cell I am on to run the macro.

or suggest a good book which will teach me how to do what I required.

@Stereone 

Will you have 100 spinners? If so, it would be helpful if the name of the spinners were consistent - for example Spinner 1 in row 2, Spinner 2 in row 3, etc., without exception.

@Stereone