SOLVED

Difference in calculated correlation coefficient value between Office 2016 and Office 365

Copper Contributor

When I create a scatter plot in Excel (2016) and add trendline to this data I get a (correct) R^2 vallue of 0.9838.  I also get the same value using the =correl() function. 

However, if I load the file into Office365 (online), without changing anything myself, the R^2 value on the chart changes to 0.997.    This does not change the value given by the correl() function.  Is there a difference in the way the R^2 value that is shown with the trendline is calculated and displayed between the versions of Excel?  Is this a bug?

I also reported this throught the app at the end of 2020 but I have had no reply or acknowledgement. 

ConcentrationAbsorbance
4 Replies
best response confirmed by Dave_Gerrard (Copper Contributor)
Solution

@Dave_Gerrard  wrote: ``I get a (correct) R^2 vallue of 0.9838. I also get the same value using the =correl() function. [....] if I load the file into Office365 (online), [...] the R^2 value on the chart changes to 0.997``

(Errata.... I believe you mean RSQ(), not CORREL().  CORREL is "R", the square root of R^2.)

I suspect that you select Set Intercept=0 for the trendline.

And yes, the trendline calculation of "R^2" for zero intercept did change in Office 365, or so I'm told.

But that is a correction, not a bug.

For details, see my last response in the thread at https://techcommunity.microsoft.com/t5/excel/same-xy-scatter-but-different-r-square/td-p/2456776 .

(But rereading it myself, that explanation is contorted and difficult to follow.  Sigh.)

In a nutshell, we can see the difference by looking at the "R^2" returned by LINEST, which is really the "coefficient of determination" (CoD).

Usually, RSQ and CoD are the same.  But they differ under some conditions.  One of those conditions is when a zero intercept is specified.

With your posted data:

=INDEX(LINEST(B1:B5,A1:A5,TRUE,TRUE),3,1) returns 0.983799508754327