SOLVED

Copy data from one workbook to another. then delete the original data

Brass Contributor

Hi All,

I am trying to achieve the following in VBA.

I have a master workbook called Master.xlsm.

I have a number of workbooks called Engineer1 to X

Engineer workbook only contains 1 worksheet (Sheet1)

I would like to be able to copy all the contents from Engineer1 workbook for all the Engineer workbooks to the Master Workbook.

I want to say copy rows 2 to 10 from Engineer 1 workbook and then copy rows 2 to 10 from Engineer2 workbook to the the cells below the data from engineer1.

I have tried a few examples from the internet but I cannot get the code to work.

Please help. I have attached my base files for your easy reference.

Vonryan

12 Replies

@vonryan 

Your approach is possible but these days I would recommend the use of Power Query.  Combining a set of files from a folder is core functionality of PQ and once further 'Engineer' files are added to the folder all that is needed is to click the refresh button.  Ideally the data should all be contained in Tables

Data ribbon tab

Get Data

From File

From Folder

Choose 'combine'

Select the Table to import from each file

Edit as needed

Close and load to sheet within Master

Peter, thanks for your reply. I have tried your described method but I seem to be struggling.

I have one file Master.xlsm on D:\

I have four files Engineer1 thro Engineer4 on D:\Test\

I go to data ribbon and select New Query\From File\ From Folder and set the path to D:\Test

the query selects the 4 files and I press Combine and load.

THe combinne dialogue window appears and I select Example file as Engineer1. The prview pane show me the layout which is fine.

I press the OK button and the query starts running.

I then get a error message 
[Expression.Error] The key didn't match any rows in the table..

Please see attached screenshot

What am I doing wrong please

Vonryan@Peter Bartholomew