Consolidating multisheet data

Copper Contributor

This is my first time using this forum and hoping someone can help :crossed_fingers: I'm using Microsoft Excel for Mac ver. 16.44 and, Im not a proficient/expert in the use of Excel. Problem: I want to combined the data from several (12 individual months) sheets/tab/formatted tables into a summary sheet, so can then create a single pivot table on the resulting summary data. I have found the 'consolidate' function but it's not very user friendly in selecting more than one 'table' and if I select the ranges therein the results are very messy and of no use.

Your help would be appreciated.

Best wishes 7 stay safe. 

3 Replies

@mtmconsult 

Well, one learning here certainly is to stop storing data for each month on a separate sheet. Excel is great at breaking a single database into parts, based on any number of variables, but definitely including months....and producing Pivot Tables that report on that consolidated data.

You don't say whether or not the different months all have essentially the same layout. Presuming they do, AND presuming that it's basically a tabular data set--rows and columns that record, say, daily transactions of money in and out, or some other comparably consistent kind of data....is there anything stopping you from just doing a manual consolidation and then moving forward with that single database?

That truly would be the best way forward. If the data are already tabular, it may be a pain but it's short-lived.

FWIW, I just finished incorporating the year=end data from my financial institution (which comes as a single spreadsheet) into the consolidated data of prior year-end data. It involves copying and pasting into a single table.

I'm sure that Power Query can do this kind of thing, but you and I on our Macs are pretty much out of luck--that PQ functionality is only on the Windows systems.

@mathetes