SOLVED

Conditional formatting for entire row based on data in one cell

Copper Contributor

I need all cells in a row to highlight a certain color if the data in one cell contains a specific word. 

What I specifically want is for an entire row to turn grey if the status cell contains the word "SHIPPED." I know how to make that specific cell highlight the color I want, but not the entire row of the sheet.

Thank you for your help!

105 Replies

@AUSTXCHICK 

You may create the rule with the formula

=A1="Shipped"

and apply it to your entire range, let say $A$1:$Z$200

All rows with "Shipped" will be in desired color.

A1 in formula shall be top left cell of your range.

Thank you for your response @Sergei Baklan 

Sorry I'm a total novice, but when I followed your instructions (I think), it only highlighted the cell that contained the word "shipped" instead of the entire row. How can I make each individual row turn grey when the cell in column G for that row contains the word "shipped?"

Thank you so much!

excel question.PNG

best response confirmed by AUSTXCHICK (Copper Contributor)
Solution

Hello

Assuming that D is the column containing the status cells, and you wish to apply conditional formatting to rows 1:50, here are the steps:

1.  Select any cell in row 1

2. Go to 'Conditional Formatting>New Rule>Use a formula to determine which cells to format'

3. In the formula field paste =$D1="Shipped", set the required format and click 'OK'

4. Go to 'Conditional Formatting>Manage Rules' and locate the rule you have just created

5. In the field 'Applies to' paste '=$1:$50', or just select the required rows, starting from row 1, then click 'OK'.

If you type the word 'SHIPPED' in any cell of the column D (rows 1 to 50), the entire row will be conditionally formatted

Hope this helps

Yury

That worked! Thank you so much!@Yury Tokarev 

If you would allow me one more question @Yury Tokarev  -