SOLVED

Compare list of Zoom participants with Student Roster

Copper Contributor

Hello,

I am a high school teacher doing Distance Learning and I am hoping to be able to speed up the attendance process.  With Zoom, I am able to generate a list of participants for that day's meeting. I feel like there must be some way to compare the Zoom participants with my student rosters to find out who is present/absent. I've attempted to display a visual of my question below and I'd appreciate any input! Even if you don't have time to explain, if you can suggest some useful functions, I'd be able to do further research on my own.  Thank you for your time!Zoom Record vs. Roster.jpg

2 Replies
best response confirmed by jjennings (Copper Contributor)
Solution

@jjennings yes there are few ways I could see you setting this up.  Because the names aren't exactly the same there is also a concern about false misses or false catches (false positives and false negatives).  

I could see you could 'stack' all the lists let's say in column B so your attendance sheet template would have all 3 periods in column B and let's say you have 49 students combined so then you paste the list from zoom in column A starting at A50.  And in column B starting at cell B50 you have an equation like:

=let(zoomList,A50:A100,right(zoomList,len(zoomList)-search(" ",zoomList))&", "&left(zoomList,search(" ",zoomList)-1))

which will convert first name last name to Last, First

Then a UNIQUE of that column will show you a small list of outliers that you can manually check.

In the attached sheet I give a sample of this and added SORT to the UNIQUE to make it easier to check.