Combining "If" "" / If IFBLANK with another complex formula HELP

Copper Contributor

So, I am trying to assign random codes to products in excel with the RANDBETWEEN, however, I don't want it to add a random number unless there is text in the Item section, every formula I try online gives me an error.

When selected empty first Item Table Cell comes as:

=[@Items]

Empty cell to the right

=[@[Assign Reference]]

I need to combine if "" or If+IFBLANK with RANDBETWEEN

So if =[@Items] is blank then leave blank but if not add Random Arrawy between 100000 and 999999

Everything I try gives one or another error

7 Replies

@ShearaKLC Try this:

=IF(ISBLANK([@Items]),"",RANDBETWEEN(100000,999999))
OMG thank you, I am new to all this and have learning difficulties, but trying desperately to learn to hopefully work in digital content.

Think I was missing a ) in some attempts or putting the = by Rand... So every time I tried fixing one place I had it wrong in another.

My health has been deteriorating meaning I might no longer be able to do my job in a few years, so trying to work on my skillset and things I can do from home, I don't really have higher qualifications so can't really find remote work. I had been stuck on this one for hours, where I can usually find the answers within 30 minutes. I do try finding the answers first without bothering anyone, but I was trying for hours.

THANK YOU SO MUCH

@ShearaKLC Glad I could help! Don't hesitate to come back here for more help if you can't resolve something within 30 minutes yourself :)

Looks like the formula won't work, as in not suitable for what I need, as it changes every time, I add a value in the next row below, I need it to stay assigned to the column once entered :( coding isn't my strength