Coding in multiple sheets

Copper Contributor
I am completely new to this and only have a basic understanding of this program. I am trying to build a sheet that I can attach a code to each individual row. Then if a row is given a specific code “AA or BB” it will copy that row to a specific sheet titled (AA or BB). In other words I want a main sheet that I can code and in turn will build 3-4 other sheets based on the codes given sheet 1....
13 Replies

@Jurac29 

Honestly it's a hypothetical question,,, please edit your post & be specific all about your need, better share some sample data & expected output with us!!

@Jurac29 

As Mr  Rajesh-S informed you, we recommend uploading to Excel file (without sensitive data), no picture please. Describe your project in as much detail as possible on the basis of this file. This would also be a blessing for all of us, as we can understand the problem much better and you can have a Tailor made solution, a win-win situation for everyone.

* Knowing the Excel version and operating system would also be an advantage.

Here is some information and help for the first steps from Microsoft and a workbook with this option.

In Excel there is no simple way of referring to the «previous sheet». But how does it work anyway, e.g. in column B, to automatically transfer the data from column D of the «previous» sheet?

For example, suppose you have 12 or 52 spreadsheets, one for each month or even each week. In column D the monthly or weekly values are added. You now want to prepare the next sheets in such a way that the numbers from column D of the previous sheet appear in each subsequent sheet in column B.

Sounds easy, but it is not. Because a normal reference in the style of "= 'Table1'! D2" would not adapt when copying a sheet or the cells. In Table 2 to Table 12 it would still be called "Table 1". You would have to manually correct the reference in all formulas - in every single sheet!

Another alternative without a macro