clicking a single checkbox that will then click a specific group of checkboxes within sheet

Copper Contributor

So I am a rookie when it comes to excel stuff, but have come a long way in last week or two. I have been killing myself trying to figure this out. 

I have a form/spreadsheet that I am creating with multiple checkboxes. I have it set up so that the user can select multiple checkboxes, which then is linked to other cells with text. They pick what they want, text is spit out in another column. The text is concatenated to created a list separated by commas. It works pretty well. However, I want to add additional checkboxes that automatically select others. Like a quick selection option that autoselects a specific group of boxes (and performs the =if C1, "text", "") for each of those in the group). These are arranged in a specific order when concatenated. So in order to avoid redundancy I want the master group box to trigger the specified boxes so the concatenated "product makes sense....probably not explaining well. 

It is kind of like a menu. You can choose any combination A, B, C, or D. You could also select X, which would be ABCD. But do it in one click. But I also want option to take away one. So user clicks X, but doesn't want C. They could click ABD. But I want them to be able to click X, then unclick C. There are many, many combinations (Like A through Z). I have found code to check and clear all checkboxes, which doesn't help. It is more like X would click group ABCD, Y would click EFGH, Z would click IJKL. If I want A, G, IJKL, then I would click A, G, Z. If I didn't want K, I would unclick that too (and I would home Z would unclick but IJL would stay). 

Is this grouping? Dependent checkboxes? Using form controls, not activeX. I read something about mother/daugher stuff...Tried recording a macro buy clicking the "groups" a boxes and then assigning to master box, but not working.