check register

Copper Contributor

Hello! I am a very novice user of Excel so this is probably an elementary problem for most. I would like to use the check register template in Excel but need to create about 50 worksheets with the same template. When I copy and paste the first initial template into a new worksheet...the cells that are to automatically update when amounts are put into the register are not changing. I am guessing I am not copying and pasting the formulas correctly  If I could get tips I would appreciate it. 

Thanks!

7 Replies

Hello @Sarah98,

Without seeing a sample of the file that you are having issues with, it would be difficult to provide a proper solution. However, just a thought, be sure that when you copy the template to a new worksheet that the formulas are not pasted as values and that the formulas remain intact.

@Sarah98 

Why do you "need to create about 50 worksheets with the same template"?

I always will ask that question, because often users, new ones especially, will think they "need to" do something or other, often have duplicate sheets for different variations on a central commonality. The reality is--although there undoubtedly are valid reasons for such duplicates--Excel can do wonderful things with, in this case, a SINGLE check register, drawing multiple reports FROM that single register. Reports based on such things as different budget categories, different payees, different income sources...you name it.

Hence my question: Why that "need"?

@mathetes  I am a Corporate representative payee for about 50 people at my job and I wanted to create a check register in one place instead of having a paper register for each person. 

@PReagan  I believe I figured it out. Thank you!

@Sarah98 

In response to my impertinent "Why?" you wrote: I am a Corporate representative payee for about 50 people at my job and I wanted to create a check register in one place instead of having a paper register for each person.