SOLVED

Cell contains specific word and return that specific word in another cell

Copper Contributor

Hi Team,

Greetings! Hope everyone is safe and doing well.

I am new to excel and learning few of its functions/formula on daily basis. I need help on below criteria, that seems to be advanced one, Please could someone review and suggest to get to the result.

Excel version: 2016

Worksheet#1 [Final Data] [around 6000 rows]

Column:A

Row:1

Column:B

Column:C

Column:D

Row:2

No.

Country [Result to be displayed here, i.e. Country Name]

Description

Row:3

Egypt

The pyramids are in Egypt.

Row:4

Japan

Japan is in APAC region

Row:5

Australia

The Red Kangaroo is the national animal of Australia.

---

---

---

---

Row:n; n = 6000

>>  please note that result word (country name) can be either in start or middle or end of the description.

Worksheet#2 [Country List] [includes single column of number of countries]

Column: c = list of countries

Japan

India

France

Egypt

China

Paris

Logic: look the description (column:D, worksheet#1) and find specific word (country name), search or lookup that country name in (column:c, worksheet#2 - i gave a name list (for workbook) to it, i.e. to column: $c:$c = clist (country list) and return value in Column:C (worksheet#1).

I found below formula but that is array and i have around 6000 rows, also other formulas - which results in lot of processing and excel goes hung. 

ref.: 

https://www.get-digital-help.com/if-cell-contains-text-from-list/

Formula: =IFERROR(INDEX($G$3:$G$7, SMALL(IF(COUNTIF($B3, "*"&$G$3:$G$7&"*"), MATCH(ROW($G$3:$G$7), ROW($G$3:$G$7)), ""), COLUMNS($A$1:A1))), "")

used below formula but super slow and excel hungs-

IFERROR(INDEX(clist,SMALL(IF(COUNTIF($C3,"*"&clist&"*"),MATCH(ROW(clist),ROW(clist)),""),COLUMNS($A$1:A1))),"") CTRL+SHIFT+ENTER [array formula]

Question:

is there any other way of applying formula so excel won't hung and speed can be optimized even with more data to be populated?