Cannot Edit Notes in MS Excel for Mac

Copper Contributor

Good morning.  I am running version 16.43 of MS Excel for Mac (Office 365).  I have a spreadsheet I have been using for around 20 years.  In the spreadsheet I insert Notes on certain cells.  In the past when I wanted to edit a note I have always used right-click then "Edit Note" and this has always worked correctly.  A week or two ago it stopped working.

I have read on several message boards and tried to resolve the problem.  Have copy-pasted the whole sheet into a new workbook.  The problem persisted.  Have saved as .xls instead of .xlsx.  The problem persisted.  Used the Review tab and tried to Edit Note that way.  The problem persisted.  I increased the column width.  The problem persisted.

I checked, and other sheets in the same workbook have notes and I can edit them normally.  Also in other workbooks.  This particular sheet is the only one with the problem, but it has many notes and they are important to me.

Thank you in advance for your help.

7 Replies

@ndylanray Perhaps you accidentally protected the sheet.

@Riny_van_Eekelen , thank you for your help, but the sheet is not protected nor the workbook.  I can delete entire worksheets, delete contents of cells, add new notes, delete notes,, etc.  I just cannot edit existing notes.

@ndylanray Can't find any setting that would affect only notes in a particular sheet. Perhaps a bug in a recent update. You can send feedback to MS. 

Screenshot 2020-12-07 at 11.04.22.png

@ndylanray did you get resolution to this? I have just had the exact thing happen with a spreadsheet I have been using for years with many notes also...

The only way I managed to go around this problem was:

1. Import file Excel to GoogleSheets,

2. Select all cells

3. Edit > Clear Notes 

4. Export file with .xlsx extension

In my case, all formatting was preserved. I hope it helps. 

(Clearly, something needs to be done to correct this)

Office 365

Excel on Mac

@ndylanray