Can't click on cells; cells not populating immediately; calculations not completing imediately

Copper Contributor

Hello all,

I have a question about numerous issues I've been having in Excel. I'm on a 2020 Macbook Pro, using Excel for Mac, version 16.48. I bought the software last fall when I got a new Macbook and it wouldn't work with the older version I'd previously been using. I've been using Excel for 30 years, and I've never seen anything like this. The issues seem to be getting worse, i.e., happening more often. They are:

When I get to the bottom of the rows that are visible on the screen, instead of scrolling to show the next line with every line that I add, sometimes it will scroll to the next available line, then partway through inputting into the first cell, it will skip to another open spreadsheet and begin inputting in that spreadsheet. At first I thought it was just an errant keystroke that I'd made, but it's happened often enough that I know that it's not my fault.

Sometimes I can’t click on a cell. I can click on a nearby cell, then use the up or down arrow or return to get to the one I want, but I can’t just click on the one that I want. And I can't click on any other cell in that row. Nor can I select the entire row. And sometimes when I click on a cell, the cell box expands so that it looks like it's two cells deep. The cursor position shows me in the cell I clicked on, but the data that I’m entering in the cell shows in the cell below the one I’m entering it into. When I hit return or tab to move to the next cell, the data shows up in the cell I clicked on - just not while I’m entering it.