SOLVED

Can I make a cell value appear only after a certain date?

Copper Contributor

Hello, I'm a beginner here. Is there a formula or function I can use (perhaps a =IF?) where I can make a certain formula's value appear in a cell only after a certain date? 

Context: on each month's sheet of my annual budget spreadsheet, I have a cell showing me that month's income minus expenses.  On a separate summary sheet for the whole year, I would like to see that value for the month only after the month is over (ie, it only shows me June's income - expenses on or after July 1st). 

Hope that makes sense. Thanks. 

35 Replies

Hi Sam,

Yes, IF works. Concrete formula depends on your data structure, like

=IF(TODAY()>DATEVALUE("2018-06-01"),<ref on the cell with May sum>,"")

and date in your locale format

Thank you.  I think I'm almost there, but it's still giving me an error.   I think I'm still making a small error somewhere in the formula you gave me.  Let me be more specific, and if you don't mind, you can tell me how to write the formula.  

If the date is equal to or beyond July 1st 2018, I want the cell to populate the value from cell  =Jun!V24. What would that look like? I tried copying your formula so it said =IF(today()>DATEVALUE("2018-07-01"), <=Jun!V24>, " ").  What do I need to fix? 

Thanks so much

Sam, the formula will be like

=IF(TODAY()>=DATEVALUE("2018-07-01"), Jun!V24>, "")

the only you have to use the date in your format. For US locale that will be like

=IF(TODAY()>=DATEVALUE("07/01/2018"), Jun!V24>, "")

Still not working :(  Not sure if I am doing something wrong.  Thanks for your help. 

Excel Error.png

best response confirmed by Sam Maw (Copper Contributor)
Solution

Sorry, I forgot to correct the reference when copy/paste your initial formula.

=IF(TODAY()>=DATEVALUE("07/01/2018"), Jun!V24, "")

Yes!  Thank you!  I got it.  Thanks for your help!