Borrowed budget spreadsheet -- need to know how to SUMIFS by month

Copper Contributor

Excel novice here. Beginning in January 2020 I wanted to track all of my expenditures, so I found an Excel budget spreadsheet that someone else made and adapted it to my needs. However, I need to be able to sum each category at the end of every month and start a new sum for the next month. I have done some research and watched videos on how to do this, but I can't seem to get it right. Can someone take a look at my formula to see if you can tell me what I'm doing wrong? I have a Budget tab, a Daily Tracker tab, and a Hidden Lists and Figures page. I've included a screenshot of the formula I'm trying to make work. 

I have no real idea of what I am doing, but I'm willing to learn, so please don't excoriate me for my (admitted) stupidity. 

4 Replies

@katpigott 

I'm curious: is this an "official" Microsoft template for budgets? Or did you find it somewhere else on the web? Or is it from a friend?

In any event, the formula looks more complicated than it needs to be, especially for a beginner with Excel. There's little reason for tracking expenses to be all that tricky.

SO...could I suggest you upload your actual spreadsheet so we can take a look at it--an image is actually of limited value. It is far more helpful to see how the whole workbook is constructed.

You're to be commended for trying to tackle this; no excoriation here. :)

@katpigott 

A further thought, if you're interested in working through developing a budget sheet on your own. This could be a good challenge for a beginner, especially one educated enough to use the word "excoriate" in a sentence....

If your daily expense tracker consists of a series of rows of individual expenses (whether cash or credit card or check) with columns for date, amount, payee, budget category, you could develop a summary by month by category of all those expenses using Excel's Pivot Table capability.