Averaging non-adjacent cells with earlier errors

Copper Contributor

I'm an Excel newbie and have been butting my head against the wall. Not sure where the problem is, so have attached the spreadsheet. 

The explanation for the spreadsheet is below. My question is at the end.

The attached spreadsheet is to track health issues.  Most of the first cells for each type of item/data have the red triangle showing a comment, with the comment explaining what the cell is for. I've entered sample data numbers in some cases to make it more obvious what is happening. Below is my documentation for the spreadsheet.

(NOTE) Naismith/Scarf is a method to take hills into account when comparing different walking route distances. It is just a fudge factor for the elevation change, based on observations by experienced hikers. It adds distance to the actual total, based on how much uphill walking there was. This creates an "equivalent distance." The equivalent distance (in terms of effort expended) is what would be an equivalent distance that is flat (no hills).

Spreadsheet is designed to be able to enter data on some days and not on others and have calculations still work.

Column 1 serves as a legend or list of abbreviations.

In Row 1, (C1, H1 etc) show the week number, starting with WEEK ZERO.

(E1,F1,G1) J1,K1,L1) etc are column titles. So E3-E9 record morning resting pulse. F3-F9 records Systolic Blood Pressure. G3-G9 records Diastolic Blood pressure.

Row 2 sets the calendar date for the week (date of Sunday, which starts the week).

Rows 3-9 are Sunday through Saturday for each week. There are then four columns per week.

Rows 10-17 sum up or average the data for the week for the weigh, weight change, pulse and BP.

Rows 20-24 record behaviors. eg: