AutoSum not working

Copper Contributor

I've been using Excel with AutoSum for many years.

Recently installed Office 365 and pre-existing spreadsheets are working as usual.

Have just set up a brand new spreadsheet with lots of cells to add.   AUTOSUM IS NOT WORKING!

Have done the following:   Click on cell to show total.  Click AutoSum > cursor through the row of cells to be added.  Press Enter and this formula comes into the cell instead of the total of the numbers in the cells.    =SUM(C8: AD8)

Have gone to File, Options, Formulas, Automatic > no response

Have checked format of all cells to be number, no decimal > no response. 

HELP???????????

Thanks!

43 Replies

Hi Margot,

I frequently faced this issue before!

The problem is:

The cells are in Text format!

I suggest in this case to select the entire sheet from the triangle in right-hand corner, then select General Format as follows:

General Format.png

After that, go to the formula and update it.

Regards

Thanks Haytham Amairah.  I had already realised that the cells were in text format and had changed the appropriate cells to Number format. 

BUT .. I hadn't reformatted the cells into which the totals were to be entered, via AutoSum.

So .. THANK YOU!  I'm greatly relieved!  

I tried same. Didn't work!

Have you updated existing spreadsheet to current Excel version?  

This isn´t working for me because I don´t get the same drop down menu when I click "data". There is no place to hit numbers. What do I do? @Margot Rylah 

@hannaaaase 

The screenshot that Haytham posted seems to indicate that clicking the Data ribbon gives you an option to change the cell format.  This is misleading.  Instead, you can either (a) select the range of cells and click the Home ribbon to find the indicated format cells dropdown list or (b) select the range of cells then right-click the range and select Format (near the bottom).  Finally, apply either General format or the relevant number format.