SOLVED

Automating inserting/deleting/editing/copying rows in a xlsx in online sharepoint?

Copper Contributor

There are files that contain multiple tables organized like this. I am an intern and each time I do something for example give a keyboard that is free to an employee, I must edit the file copy the row of that item and pasting it in the table of the section where the employee works. Then I must delete it from free and I must change some columns (like owner) in the table where is the full list of all the items. I am interested a way that inserting in a script/x the id of the product and the id of the employee it does this automatically.

I would like about advice,suggestions for working with it, Is recommended for automating with AHK or Powershell or what would be better? Thanks for your time.

6 Replies

@Elqueaprende 

There probably is an easier way to keep track of inventory than even what you're suggesting. Your first sentence says "There are files that contain multiple tables organized like this." but "this" never appears (if, that is, you were planning to insert an image and then forgot).

Might I suggest that you attach a copy of the actual spreadsheet? Not an image; the actual spreadsheet(s). Any real names should be replaced by the names of Disney characters or something else, so that you're not compromising confidential information. If that's not possible, a copy that closely resembles your actual files, so as to give us an idea of what this all looks like.

My own sense is that it should be possible to simply create a transactional database that keeps track of assignments, returns, etc., using date and ID#s and items codes...something like that. Just automating what you're doing, if what you're doing is not efficient in the first place, would simply be automating something that isn't efficient. Let's try to design it intelligently first.

@mathetes