SOLVED

Autofill alphabet

Copper Contributor

PC/Win10/MS365 Subscriber

I will skip the frustration and disbelief for the moment. I can drag and auto fill a column of numbers with ease. I must be missing something obvious but I have found no technique for this using the default alphabet (in my case obviously US English).

I have seen a technique on a number of help sites suggesting adding a custom series via the Options tab. Seriously!? Come on, I am a retired software engineer. A simple table function would permit using the default language or even if needed, adding custom fill sequences like the Options tab approach suggests, but having to manually generate a sequence of alphabet characters is...!?

So I, with a certain emotion rising set out to get on with my work; but, guess what!? I need more than 26 autofill characters in the sequence (like the column headings so conveniently displayed above the spreadsheet cols I'm using! I could not figure out how to have to columns  filled with alpha chars to pair up to sequence "A","B","C",...,"X","Y","Z","AA","AB","AC",...,"AZ","BA","BB","BC",...

Am I nuts or just plain ignorant or ... what!? Actually, the central office of the org I volunteer for has been pushing me to use their standard, central online spreadsheet ... "Google Sheets"! Dare I say that here? (At least "Google" has the neighborly option to export / download in *.xlxs format. I am just piqued enough to even consider that.)  I will be most gracious to find out I have somehow overlooked the obvious, simple technique that has eluded me thus far. Thank you!

5 Replies

@cswed 

I approach the problem from the other end.  Why should one ever want a labelling sequence which forms neither a numeric sequence (good) nor alphabetic sequence (poor) but, instead, provides an utterly idiosyncratic sequence of letters such as that used for column referencing (appalling)? Answers on a postcard?

[By idiosyncratic, I mean that not many dictionaries list AA after Z]