Auto populate data from another sheet with a stop point.

Copper Contributor

Hi.

I am not sure if what I want to do is possible, and I have had a good look around with very little luck, so please bear with me if what I am saying sounds crazy.

I have a spreadsheet which tracks the training of individuals in my company. I have a master sheet with staff member's names on and when they completed a certain course. But, I want to track individual components of a course, so I have set up a new sheet to do this. 

What I want to do is auto populate the list of names over in the new sheet, but I want to stop at a certain point.

The main Groups sheet have the 5 staff groups in the company. At the end of each group I have a line to show compliance, for example the staff group called NEPTS has a cell at the bottom with the value NEPTS Compliance % =Groups!A3 &"" - I have used this value on a summary page using the MATCH function, so it is required.

On the NEPTS sheet I am just using a direct reference to the cell I want a name carried across from, so for instance the first cell has the formula =Groups!A3 &""

However, I want to be able to pull across all the names of this group but have Excel stop when it gets to the NEPTS Compliance % value, or more ideally, the first NULL - this will allow me to add new rows to the Groups sheet without the need to add extra rows in to the NEPTS sheet.

I do hope the above makes sense - I am not great at Excel, and some of the bits in my document are copied over from other spreadsheets that do the same thing (just in case you thought I might actually know what I am talking about!) 

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you in advance

Darren

1 Reply