SOLVED

Auto fill from consecutive drop down boxes

Copper Contributor

Hi,

I work in the building industry and I'm trying to set up a spreadsheet to help my team work out measurements based on some drop down boxes, which pull data from the next sheet. 

Sheet 1 has my table, column B has a drop down box with the suite selection, column C has another drop down box with a type, depending on the two of these the data varies. I have all the corresponding data in Sheet 2 for my drop down boxes and measurements to pull through but I cannot figure out how to pull those measurements through. 

I have attached my spreadsheet so far but hoping there is a way to do this, I have been googling for days and don't think either VLOOKUP or HLOOKUP is the way to go. 

Thanks in advance, I look forward to learning more!

5 Replies

@Emosh1987 

Not sure what do you want to pull from Sheet2 into the Sheet1 as you didn't mock up the desired output but try the below formula which will pull the value from column D on Sheet2 into the Sheet1.

=IFERROR(OFFSET(INDEX(Sheet2!$C:$C,MATCH($B2,Sheet2!$C:$C,0)),MATCH($C2,Sheet2!$C:$C,0)-2,1),"")

The 1 (bold number) in the above formula will pull the value from 1 column right to the column C i.e. column D on Sheet2 so if you want to pull the info from column E, change it to 2.

@Subodh_Tiwari_sktneer 

Thank you so much!!!!!! Definitely beyond my knowledge of formulas but that is doing exactly what I needed. 

I've added it into the D and E columns (with 1 changed to 2 for E). 

Can I ask for a simpler one for the Fixing tags columns? 

Have reattached with the Fixing tags drop down and values in Sheet2. 

Again thank you very much!!

best response confirmed by Emosh1987 (Copper Contributor)
Solution

@Emosh1987 

You can simply use the following formula in G2 on Sheet1...

=IFERROR(INDEX(Sheet2!$H$3:$H$4,MATCH($F2,Fixingtags,0)),"")