Age formula not calculating

Copper Contributor

Good day, I am a beginner Excel user and am trying to calculate age between 2 different dates where B2 contains the date of diagnosis of a disease and E2 contains the date of birth. The column with my formula is formatted to "Number" and Calculation is set to Automatic. I have also done the text to Column thing. My date columns are set to the same date format.

I type in the following formula: =datediff(B2,E2,"M"), but I receive an error message that there is a problem with the formula (the part between brackets is then highlighted). Also, when I type "B2" that column is highlighted blue, but when I type "E2", that column is NOT highlighted red as I expected it to.

How can I fix this error and calculate the age? Would really appreciate your help!

8 Replies

@Anel0510 

Double "f" is for the function in VBA, here is 

=DATEDIF(E3,G3,"Y")

or

=YEARFRAC(G2,E2,1)

depend on what exactly you'd like to calculate.

Hi Sergei, thanks for your reply! I have tried using both your suggested formulas (copy and pasted them), but I still get a message that there is an error (see attached file).

Any other suggestions?

@Anel0510 

Another formula you can use is

=(G2-E2)/365.25    (the .25 because that is the more precise number of days in a year, accounting for leap years)

That formula has been put into the attached copy of your spreadsheet.

Separate issue: the copy you posted contained information that should have been deleted before posting...names of patients. It's important that such private info NOT be posted. You can remove the sheet yourself, but if you don't get to it in time, I've alerted the board moderators to take it down. In the copy I'm attaching, the sheet with those names has been removed.

@Anel0510