Advanced Slicer Help Please

Copper Contributor

I have her a datafile with all the data and figures copied and pasted from a public database to maintain corporate confidentiality. My question is rather straightforward. How can I create a slicer for each of our services instead of having a tab/sheet for each service based on the data table I created? 

Our high-level services categories (below) are what I want to be able to filter on a slicer to keep the report on one sheet with the other data hidden. The three consolidated services are as follow: 

1. Valuations

2. Brokerage 

3. Consulting 

Do I need to create connection tables?? I am new at the whole power query and relational tables concept so if someone could please "dumb it down" or find a better solution that would be great. I would love to learn how to do this--if someone could please help me I would be very grateful.  Thank you!

Extra Details if needed

Best,
Scott

24 Replies
Neither of those links works at all.
Thank you, some advice would help,
I would like to create formula for > than or <

@mathetes It will not let me upload attachment. I tried entering the URL for the file. What am I doing wrong/? 

@Scott_Appleton_HSDPT 

First: Are those the real names of real people? I know you say you copied and pasted from a public database, but those look like they shouldn't be posted. So if so, please remove the links.

Second: it's not clear what you mean by slicing. What are you looking to achieve--give us a bit more clarity on the results desired.

Third: It's possible that the FILTER function might work for you ( see a good intro here in this YouTube video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9I9DtFOVPIg ). Watch it: maybe you can resolve your own issue with that function.