adding columns to a linked worksheet to sort with worksheet

Copper Contributor

I have a master worksheet that I use to enter information.

I have separate worksheets that contain columns that are linked to information from my master, and columns that are NOT linked to the master.

When I sort the MASTER, any worksheet containing the linked columns sort properly, however causing the information in the unlinked columns to become out of sort and incorrect. 

How can I fix this so the information in the unlinked columns stay with the linked columns once sorted?

8 Replies

@kheffley Consider NOT having separate worksheets. Excel has great capabilities to filter and summarise raw data in many ways, using built-in functions. Easiest when all data is in one data set.

@kheffley Can't really answer without seeing the data you are dealing with.

@Riny_van_Eekelen 

See attached workbook with worksheets I am working with.  I am an amateur when it comes to excel so try not to be too hard on criticizing my creation:)

@kheffley See attached workbook. I have inserted a sheet called "Raw Data" that holds all information you are collecting. No fancy formatting, no empty rows and rather than working with colors, add a separate column for the status that you are indicating with them. I would also put the notes is a separate column, NOT attach them to a cell like you have done (changed that for a few, but not all). The idea is that all information is visible, accessible in one single structured table. From there, you can sort the data, create summaries and reports. It depends a bit on your Excel version, though, and how comfortable you are with e.g. Pivot Tables.

I have been forced to copy the workbook and date the file and save it.
This has helped me some when there is an error and I must deduce over time the mistake.
What does that mean?