SOLVED

Right-click menu is getting out of control

Copper Contributor

The right-click menu on Edge is getting out of hand. There needs to be a way to hide or customize what appears on the menu. I am running Canary, and this is what I see when invoking the right-click menu.

Screen Shot 2020-11-24 at 6.12.16 PM.png

The items inside the yellow box should be sub-menus or optional. You can probably make an argument that Save As... and Print... doesn't need to be there either. As a developer, I'm partial to Inspect, but View Page Source could be safely excised. 

It's even worse when I highlight text and open the right-click menu

Screen Shot 2020-11-24 at 6.15.34 PM.png

Why are there two search options and why ask if I want to translate something that is already in English? 

It's great that Edge offers all these tools, but surely there's a better way to show the users they are available. 

23 Replies
@RANDY ABBOTT

Search in Sidebar means that you don't have to open a new tab to search; therefore, your work won't get disturbed.

Search on the web means that you have to search the selected word in that page, therefore, you will lose typed or unsaved data.

@Kam 

Spoiler

@Kam wrote:
@RANDY ABBOTT

Search in Sidebar means that you don't have to open a new tab to search; therefore, your work won't get disturbed.

Search on the web means that you have to search the selected word in that page, therefore, you will lose typed or unsaved data.

That's not true.

you don't lose anything if you search for something on a new tab instead of sidebar, Edge never searched on the same page. please don't comment if you don't know about it.

@RANDY ABBOTT 

Hi,

I agree with you, I think in Edge settings, maybe here: edge://settings/appearance

we should be able to customize the right-click menu items with toggles, just like we can customize Edge toolbar items.