Please bring "Set Tabs Aside" to New Edge

Steel Contributor

As a student, I used the Set Tabs Aside feature all the time. It's one of the reasons I used Edge over Chrome in a Google-heavy school. That habit of setting tabs aside has followed me after school, and it has proven useful time and again. 

So please bring this feature over. Annotation 2019-04-08 100411.jpgThis feature has helped define Edge. 

EDIT: 
It would also be super amazing to bring Set Tabs Aside to the cloud.

99 Replies

@ej_6612 I hope they do, but also import the your existing set aside tabs as well.

@ej_6612 Agreed.  I'd say this is the most iconic feature of Edge, and while I'm exicted to see MS shift to a chromium base, I find myself imediately missing that feature.

Set tabs aside was my favorite feature from the original Edge. I'm sure such a major feature is being planned for a future release.
Low prio for enterprise/corporate.

@ej_6612 -- I also love Set Tabs Aside and can't wait for the implementation (hopefully). However, there is a short term work around. After you close an Edge window with multiple tabs, it is saved in history along with all the tabs you had open. Go to history and look under recently closed. You'll find items listed only as "5 tabs" or however many tabs were open when the window was closed. Just click on 5 Tabs or whatever has the right number of tabs. A window will pop open with all your tabs. In my case, I keep two windows side by side. One has 5 tabs, the other 6.

At night, I just close the windows without worrying about anything. The next morning, when I launch Edge, I get one of the two windows I had closed the night before. It pops up at the right location.  Then I go to history and click on the item I want (named after the number of tabs it holds). A second window pops up with the rest of my tabs.

They should organize the tabs set aside into topics, somehow.