Have feedback on the performance of Edge? We're Listening!

Microsoft

Greetings Microsoft Edge Insiders!

My name is Eleanor and I am a Program Manager at Microsoft on the Edge team. I am new to this forum and am so excited to be here and learn from all of you! Thank you for all the feedback, ideas and discussions you have shared so far in this community. 

Echoing @Elliot Kirk's words here, the attributes that you say matter most in your browsing experience are performance, privacy, and reliability. We have heard your wish for a faster, safer, more reliable and more private web browser experience - one that uses less memory and battery and has higher rendering speed and better stability.  We'd love to learn more about this and are looking for places to do better in browser performance. If you have any feedback, feel free to share.

Thank you for being here. We look forward to listening and engaging with you.

Eleanor

-The Microsoft Edge Team-

16 Replies

@Eleanor_Huynh Thank you so much for this post! Some quick suggestions I've always wanted in browsers in terms of performance:

1. Almost everyone uses extensions. But sometimes, you use a browser and after years of slowly adding extensions, you don't realize how slow your browser has gotten. I would appreciate a speed impact list of the users's installed extensions, showing the relative performance loss--primarily focused on the worst offenders. I know a few extension developers might get upset ("It's not that bad!"), but directing users to slow/bloated extensions would be a huge benefit for both casual ("are nine toolbars bad?") and performance users ("Wow, Honey embeds how many bloated scripts?")