Client side development - Where do I begin?

Bronze Contributor

Hello Folks,

I have been working with Sharepoitn for the past 11 years now (Sp2001 - Sp2013) and all the work I have been involved in has been with server side development.

However, now it has become clear that the client side development is the way forward. I have been doing some reading but there seems to be too much to digest.

What would be the best learning path for someone like me to take?

These are what I find being commonly discussed -

a) Typescript

b) Angular

c) React

d) Gulp, Grunt

e) Node

f) npm/ bower

g) webpack, browserify

h) Knockout

i) Breeze

j) Yarn

k)RequireJs

l) Yeoman

I'm sure there are a lot of other that I have not mentioned here, but the question is where to start and how to proceed?

Any pointers would be much appreciated.

5 Replies

Hi, 

So with that list, I believe that you are attempting to bite off more than you can chew. My recommendation woudl be to first start small and become familiar with JavaScript. David Mann has an excellent 3 part series on beginning SharePoint 2013 solutions using JavaScript on Pluralsight. I would watch all 3 (sign up for a trial if you need to at Pluralsight).

Here's the first video in ther series:
https://www.pluralsight.com/courses/developing-sharepoint-2013-javascript

Once you get comfortable with JavaScript and feel that you are familiar with the concepts and can easily perform CRUD operations on List Data, I might begin the journey towards understanding the SharePoint Framework tool chain.

To get started on that, I would check out my deck from a SharePoint Saturday last year on getting started with the SharePoint Framework:

http://www.spsevents.org/city/Charlotte/clt2016/Lists/SPSSessions/Attachments/71/Modern%20SharePoint...