MFA is being discontinued?

Steel Contributor

We are new to AD Azure.  We currently have local AD server just for an ERP system that syncs to AD Azure.  All accounts are maintained in AD Azure.  We have already enforced MFA for 100 employees using the method from AD Azure > Users > Multi-Factor Authentication.  We enable user then setup with the user and their phone.

From a different issue, the Azure support agent just told me that we're using a "legacy" way of authenticating, that it was his "preferred way" but that it's "less secure than modern authentication", we're "more at risk" and that Microsoft was supposed to stop support for it in October (news to me and I get all the emails).  He said this is now going to end April 2021.  Now panic mode as we just implemented it.

He had me go into our tenant settings > Org > Modern Authentication and it is enabled but he said we're not using it.

Can someone please help out a newbie here.  Do we have to scrap this entirely and go with a different way to authenticate?  We want to be secure but don't understand why we're allowed to setup something that was supposed to be removed and is not that secure.  We do not have Premium or E licenses.  

How else are we to secure our email accounts without doing MFA from Azure?

6 Replies

@luvsqlMy 1st question would be what is your current license for your tenant? are you on P1? perhaps consider upgrading to P1 as with this you can utilize a fairly advanced method of securing your users, things like conditional access policies and a much stricter, customizable MFA will be available to you.
Yes, modern auth should be used as this ensures that legacy auth methods (SMTP, POP) are not being utilized and exposing your tenant/ environment.

"For tenants created before August 1, 2017, modern authentication is turned off by default for Exchange Online and Skype for Business Online." I think this might explain why your ORG is currently using a deprecated auth method.