Help! AWS Microsoft Directory Services, Azure Active Directory, AAD Connect Hybrid Join and Intune..

Brass Contributor

Bare with me as I'm new to Azure, AWS and O365 services.

We work with an MSP that set up our infrastructure and from everything I can tell, we have what would be considered Hybrid. Unfortunately, due to the partnership with the MSP, I have very limited visibility into everything but here's what I can surmise based on what I see in Active Directory.

1. We're running AWS Directory Services for Microsoft AD. I see a dozen or so AWS Delegated [groupnamehere] Groups in AD. Additionally, I see that our DNS servers are DCs in AWS.

2. Our domain name is "corp.companyname.loc"

3. When I do any AD admin work, I log into what I can only assume is a management instance of AD, installed on a completely different VM in AWS.

4. We have an ADFS server that appears to be authenticating users into O365.

5. We do not have any physical servers in any offices.

I have questions about how authentication can (should?) work and how I can better leverage Azure AD and Intune in my environment. We have Azure AD P1 licensing as well as Microsoft Intune. Here are some of the concerns I've been seeing as the company grows:

• Some of the early machines were not truly joined to the domain. For one thing, I've connected with a few of these users and they are still set up in the default WORKGROUP. I believe the users were provided an O365 account with e-mail and used the pre-installed versions of Office (Surface Pros). Most of these early users' AD accounts have passwords that have expired sometimes up to 6 months ago but the user is still able to send/receive e-mail, login to SharePoint and do most everything they need. Its only when they start to do some additional work like download files that they get vague error messages about account issues. That's when I get a call or an e-mail and have to start looking at the machine's configuration.