I'm currently documenting a procedure how we should handle VM backup and restore.
Let's say that we create a new storage account every time we are about to restore a virtual machine and use this storage account as the "Staging location". Is it then safe to delete the storage account after the VM has been restored?
As I understand it the Staging location is only needed during the actual restoring process to move data from the source VM, kind of like a data layer.
When I check the storage account after the restoring is done, it doesn't really contain anything other than an empty container called "$logs".
I guess the container isn't completely empty. There are some tables which contains metrics data, but I can't see why it would be necessary to keep