2 IT Departments split in Azure

Copper Contributor

Good Day All,

I do hope someone here could point me in the correct direction in finding an answer. I am a noob on the Azure platform so please go easy hahaha.

I work for a large corporate, within this organization we have 2 IT departments.

1.  IT Department 1:
    Services internal organizational IT needs only. Purely on prem solutions, hosted on physical servers, using Hyper-V as a the only hypervisor. All solutions hosted in this department is accessed by internal staff ONLY. 
  2. IT Department 2: (Which I am part of)
    This department is tasked with cloud based solutions, predominantly making use of IaaS, which is hosted on a non-popular cloud vendor platform. 

Let's break it down to properly understand this:
    Services internal departments solutions which are sold to external clients (So in Laymans terms, Our internal departments develop some super application, they sell it to external clients, and IT Department 2 is now responsible for hosting this solution)

The reason for this , is due to the need for external client access, we have to segregate internal and external access. 

Dilema: 
    IT Department 2, now needs to move all the servers from the "non Popular" cloud, to Azure. Which is easy enough. The problem is that IT Department 1, will at some stage start moving workloads to Azure as well. BUT we need to ensure that IT department 2 which is the main Azure account holder, has the highest control of the Azure portal, and when IT Department 1 comes on board at some stage, that there is limited access, and IT department 1 will not be able to see what IT Department 2 has and does in Azure.

We are 2 completely different departments 

So i have done my research and I understand that this can be split using 2 different subscriptions, and things like RBAC. But how and what would be the best way to do this?

Please advise if possible

8 Replies