BI Architecture with Synapse

Copper Contributor

Hi guys,

I've been reading about Azure Synapse but never had the opportunity yet to work with it, so I had a meeting with a Microsoft Partner representative that gave me a quick overview on Synapse and the pricing calculator. There some questions I would like to ask / share, and build on that, which might be useful for more IT folks out there.

1. My background is SQL Server, so I always worked on-premises, using SSAS cubes as a semantic layer where all my Measures were defined. In the new architecture it seems we are shifting all that to Power BI premium models, and SSAS will probably disappear. To keep that vision in mind, and being aware that some projects only require 50 -150 users, I don't see any use for Power BI Premium capacity and maybe Power BI Premium Per User might do the trick keeping costs in check. I'm not sure but it's probably an option.

2. I don't understand quite honestly what is the concept of DEV/QA vs Production in the new cloud models. For a production environment, a dedicated instance might be the way to go when you want to promote self-service BI in a organization with adequate performance, since it turns the Serverless model costs impossible to predict at the start of a project and more oriented for others purposes, probably a lower DWU instance in Pay as You Go, might be the best option for a DEV/QA environment.

I'm not sure what you guys are planning for DEV/QA and would like to hear your strategies to mitigate costs.

3. Azure Synapse seems to unlock the most scenarios and I would like to see what approaches you guys are planning for your architecture, high level overview of course.

Best regards

2 Replies

@Swares I can answer on the PBI part, but someone else will have to chime in wrt Synapse...