Saving results of a query to be used by other queries

Copper Contributor

Hi,

I am new to KQL and trying to explore the possibility of being able to save the results of a query in Azure Log Analytics . A scheduling will be done on this query to be run once a day to update the results and hence update the saved data.

The results saved from the above query will be used by other queries that will do a lookup into this saved table to suss out important details when returning results. So for example.

I have Query A that returns column A , Column B , Column C  that gets saved in Table A.

This Query A is run say every day so that Table A is always refreshed with latest and greatest data.

Now I have Query B that has access to the values in Column A of Table A . It uses this value of ColumnA to query Table A to retrieve data for Column B , Column C and enrich the results that are returned .

Since Query B is run very frequenty I don't really want to do the full query A ( which is fairly static) since it will become overly inefficient.

Is this something that is possible with KQL and Log Analytics ?

Thanks

4 Replies
You could potentially look at Azure Automation and a PowerShell runbook to trigger the query, based on your schedule..
As Luke says, Log Analytics queries cant create a Table, so you can use his idea or look at a Logic App on a recurrence trigger to fire the query at a specific time of day, the logic app can then run the KQL query to populate a custom log table <table name_CL>. You can then "join" your other query to that table with your aggregated results. This example sends an email, https://cloudblogs.microsoft.com/industry-blog/en-gb/cross-industry/2020/06/17/log-analytics-or-azur... but you can use another control "send data" to populate a Table (custom logs are billable data sources)

Example "join" https://docs.microsoft.com/en-gb/azure/data-explorer/kusto/query/joinoperator?pivots=azuremonitor

ServiceMapProcess_CL
| project Computer // computer