SOLVED

Is it possible to "pipe" the output of one query to another?

Copper Contributor

Hi,

Firstly excuse me if this is a silly question, I am new to Kusto and query languages in general.

Is it possible to "pipe" the results of one query and use it to query on with another?

What are trying to do is get the output from the Auditlogs and use an attribute from that to then feed in to a query on the SigninLogs;

let AddMember = (
AuditLogs
| where TimeGenerated > ago(2h)
| where OperationName == "Add member to group" and TargetResources contains "Our Group"
| project TimeGenerated, OperationName, UserName=TargetResources[0].userPrincipalName, GroupName=TargetResources[0].modifiedProperties[1].newValue
);
let AppSignIn = (
SigninLogs
| where AppDisplayName == "Our App"
| where Status.errorCode == "0"
| project TimeGenerated, OperationName, UserName=UserPrincipalName, AppDisplayName
);
AddMember

| union AppSignIn
| sort by TimeGenerated asc

I am not familiar with all the operators but I understand that the Union operator creates a single table from both outputs... not quite what I am after because I'd like to use the output from one to feed in to the other. 

Hopefully I have made sense and thanks.

4 Replies

@TheGreenGorilla 

Are you looking for a join? Something like this?

let AddMember = (
AuditLogs
| where TimeGenerated > ago(24h)
| where OperationName == "Add member to group" and TargetResources contains "Our Group"
| project TimeGenerated, OperationName, UserName=TargetResources[0].userPrincipalName, GroupName=TargetResources[0].modifiedProperties[1].newValue, ResourceId
);
SigninLogs
| project TimeGenerated, OperationName, UserName=UserPrincipalName, AppDisplayName, ResourceId
| join (
        AddMember
 ) on ResourceId 
 | project AppDisplayName , OperationName 

Thanks for your reply @CliveWatson

I have tried the Join operator, but doesnt that just join the columns from the  2 outputs?