SOLVED

How to query for two events with no common fields?

Deleted
Not applicable

Hi,

I know one can query for two events that have a common field by the Join Operator, but how can I query two or more separate events that have no common fields?

I'm trying to track a couple of activities that have no common fields in one query.

Thank you.

7 Replies

@Deleted 

Something like:

Alert
| project AlertName, round_time=bin(TimeGenerated, 1m)
| join (Perf 
        | project Computer, 
        round_time=bin(TimeGenerated, 1m))
 on round_time

I use a rounded down timegenerated (as that is in both Tables)

@CliveWatson 

I'm sorry but I'm new to this, can you please elaborate on that or send me a link to some docs. How can this code help me query for two or more events in one query?

Thank you.

@Deleted 

Perhaps I'm not fully understanding the question.  You asked to Join two activities without a common field.  When you say events we would assume the Events table in Log Analytics, and by Join I assumed the join operator .   What do you mean my Events (do you mean an event in a table or row)? 

Which table are you referring to? 

A single Table will have always have common fields.  My example shows a join across two seperate tables, where their isn't a common field. 

Are you asking about two Event IDs, in a table.  For example.  The Events table?

// count all events that are 7036 and show their description
Event
| where TimeGenerated > ago(1d)
| where EventID == 7036
| summarize count() by  EventID,   RenderedDescription 

Showing two events, would be

// count all events that are 7036 or 7040 and show their description
Event
| where EventID in ( 7036, 7040)
| summarize count() by  EventID

Or are you trying to join pieces of data in a single table?

Perf 
| where TimeGenerated > ago(10d)
| where CounterName  == "% Processor Time"