Help me with these queries

Brass Contributor

Hi all.

I'm a complete newbie to OMS.

I've been handled the task to create a dashboard that gets the CPU and RAM usage, returns the average and marks the servers that are overpowered (less than 10% usage over the last 30 days, for example).

I'm a bit (a lot) lost on how to carry on.

I found a custom dashboard here:

https://gallery.technet.microsoft.com/scriptcenter/Server-Performance-3d767ab1/

And i've been trying to understand how it works without any luck.

Here are two queries that i'm currently trying to understand:

search Computer !in ("-")
| summarize AggregatedValue = count() by Computer
| where Computer != ""

Here the issue is that I get duplicated values, so for 29 VMs the dashboard is reporting 55, and when I check, I can see that I got duplicates like this:

COMPUTER

COMPUTER.domain.com

computer.domain.com

I'm trying to understand how to add exceptions, but I don't understand what the ("-") stands for, and how should I exclude things without the domain, and how to exclude lowercase hostnames.

Now, to the real task, here's the query i'm struggling with:

Perf
| where (ObjectName == "Processor" or ObjectName == "System") and CounterName == "% Processor Time"
| summarize AggregatedValue = percentile(CounterValue, 90) by bin(TimeGenerated, 1h), Computer
| sort by TimeGenerated desc
| render barchart
// Oql: Type:Perf (ObjectName:Processor OR ObjectName:System) AND (CounterName="% Processor Time") | measure percentile90(CounterValue) by Computer | Display StackedBarChart

What I don't understand is

What is the Oql line? is that commented?

And I get that AgregatedValue is a column name?

Is the value I get the average of all the values of the last hour? So if I change the value to 24hs I will get the average of the last 24hs of the CPU usage?