SOLVED

Event Log - Windows Services

Copper Contributor

Hello guys,

I'm a rookie on Log Analytics, that's why I followed these interesting posts of @Stanislav Zhelyazkov : 

- URL1

- URL2

However it does not meet completely my need. All night my Azure VMs are shut down, at differents hours according to project. As you know, Shut down generates Windows services stopped event.

I would like to exclude these events with my query.

I tried to join Event with HeartBeat, and compare TimeGenerated with LastHeartBeat or set value=1 when VM are up. But in spite of my effort, it doesn't works ...

Is it possible to do this only with Kusto query ? And Do you have some examples ?

My last query :

Event
where EventLog == "System" and EventID == 7036 and Source == "Service Control Manager"
parse kind=relaxed EventData with * '<Data Name="param1">' Windows_Service_Name '</Data><Data Name="param2">'
Windows_Service_State '</Data>' *
where Windows_Service_Name contains "[SERVICE_NAME]" and Windows_Service_State == "[SERVICE_STATE]"
project Computer, Windows_Service_Name, Windows_Service_State, TimeGenerated
join kind= inner (
Heartbeat
| where Computer contains "[VM NAME]"
| summarize LastHeartBeat=max(TimeGenerated) by Computer
| summarize count(LastHeartBeat > ago(5m)) by Computer
) on Computer 

Thank you very much for your help,
7 Replies
Your query looks great.
I didn't understand in the Hearbeat part why you aggregate twice on Computer one after the other. Consider using the extend operator instead.

Other comments:

- Prefer using "has" and not "contain" where possible
- You can use "let" to set up the constants in the query.
- You might want to use "kind=leftouter" in your join to handle cases of no Heartbeat.

Hope it helps,
Meir :>

@Meir Mendelovich thank you very much for all these tips, certainly I will improve my syntax.