Create a new monitor dashboard

Copper Contributor

Hi

I'm new to Azure and am trying to setup a new dashboard that reports on machines that are online and offline. I think the heartbeat monitor should be used but I am struggling with the details of getting it just right

I cant seem to find any  

7 Replies

@stuart355 

There is a built-in Azure Monitor Workbook (many Dashboards are now moved or are moving to Workbooks) called "Agent Health".  All Workbooks can be adapted to suit and you can look at the Log Analytics query as well, for ideas or to adjust. 

clipboard_image_1.png

clipboard_image_0.png

Also remember HeartBeat isn't necessarily offline / online.   e.g. of a machine goes offline without updating the agent there will be no HeartBeat until it comes online again.  There is a similar Workbook for VM Availability.

In a Workbook you can also perform an Azure Resource Graph (ARG) query, also based on KQL.  See here for a sample workbook: https://techcommunity.microsoft.com/t5/azure-sentinel/azure-sentinel-and-azure-arc/ba-p/999379So for any Azure resource (such as a VM); you can get an immediate status - this is a workbook that shows Security data about a VM as a sample.  there is also a ARG example at the end of the post. 

This would also show Hybrid and VMs and their status.

From the ARG Explorer (in the Azure Portal) 

clipboard_image_3.png

resources
| where type in( "microsoft.hybridcompute/machines"  , "microsoft.compute/virtualmachines")
| extend statusState = trim(' ', tostring(properties.provisioningState))
| project name, type, statusState, subscriptionId
//| summarize count(name) by type 

clipboard_image_2.png

@CliveWatson 

Thanks]for that. I'm in the Workbooks and see this

clipboard_image_0.png

Problem is I have no idea what to do next. Could you give some pointers please

Many thanks

@stuart355 

Ok, try this step by step guide.

Start with the "Agent Health" one, click on it to open it,

clipboard_image_2.png