Can't login into Admin App anymore

Copper Contributor

I'm a global Admin of an Office 365 Tenant, and the admin app used to work fine on my Android device.

But it doesn't work anymore. On the Android (6.0) device I get an error telling me "Unauthorized. Couldn't verify your user role. Please try again later.". The same on iOS (11.4, in German): "Nicht autorisiert. Ihre Benutzerrolle konnte nicht überprüft werden. Versuchen sie es später noch einmal".

I can't find any information about this error message, it's also not listed in the troubleshooting article: https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/2904305/how-to-troubleshoot-office-365-admin-app-sign-in-is...

Login to the admin control panel via web browser works fine as always. But this error message appears for quite some months now and it's a real pain not being able to do quick adjustments directly in the app anymore.

Does anyone know how to fix that?

4 Replies

Seems to work fine here (Android 7.0). Try signing out of the app, if that doesn't help reinstall it?

Sorry for the late reply. Thanks, but reinstalling the app neither worked out on Android nor on iOS.

Not sure if that makes any difference: It's an Office 365 plan for a Nonprofit Organization (E1 Nonprofit plan).

Shouldn't make a difference afaik. But I don't really know what else you can do to troubleshoot this, the joys of using mobile apps... Open a support case?

I guess I finally found out what's the problem. We added a new domain some time back and switched all user-ids / primary addresses to the new domain and with that also our naming scheme changed from forename@... to forename.surname@.... That worked out pretty smooth. Since then I'm using my new user-id for logging in.
For testing I just re-activated an old deactivated an blocked global admin account, which was already inactive when we switched and therefore is still using the old domain. That one works perfectly within the app.