Why Kill Access?

Copper Contributor

Why do people want to kill Access? Press releases since the 1990s said MS will discontinue Access, and yet and lives on. I can only imagine how important it is to so many people and businesses. I also find people are always putting down Access, especially tech people that have never developed or implemented an Access app. It's laughable. I have over 50 mission critical apps I've been managing for 2 decades and I never have any problems. I rapidly continue development so quick and easy...and fun. Users love it because I can literally create anything they need. The apps quickly evolve and get better and better. I do things so quickly! I'm so happy I know the wonderful secret about how great Access is but concerned that no one else seems to understand how relevant it is. As I near retirement age I am concerned that we won't be able to find people that know Access. . Here's a good thread on the crazy topic of Access and it's imminent demise: Microsoft Access: Is it still relevant in 2022? - Explore Alternatives (comparitech.com)

2 Replies

@coskerk 

First, use of the term "Press releases..." implies something rather more substantial than what ACTUALLY happens. "Rumors are spread..." would be a more accurate description.  MS has never suggested anything close to a discontinuation of Access. These rumors are started by, and propagated by, generally uninformed, and all too often anonymous, entities. 

Fear not, although there are many detractors willing to repeat the rumors, they remain that, rumors.

Is Access going to survive for another 28 years? I don't know. Most people have an opinion, but not many of those opinions have a lot of facts behind them.