Trying to find out how to report an Access problem to support / or trying to find a solution

Copper Contributor

Hi all, I am new to the communities although I am a long time MS user, so here goes.

Over 6 months ago we ran into a problem the built in salesforce connector of Access. First release we noticed was 1908, since than all releases show the same problem ( tested up to 2003). For all I know it might not even be an access problem (although that would be strange since we tested on a variety of setups).

I tried to get this 'bug' registered to MS (or at least inform them about the problem) but up to now I have failed in doing so. I am running constantly in circles.

• I informed our reseller to no avail)
  • I tried using the 365 portal with a service request, it got closed (they directed me to a paying phone where I got transferred from A to B to C back to A (who did no longer reply :sad:)
  • I tried various forums

So now I just thought about asking how to report the problem.

Regarding the problem itself:

The bug we see in MS Access is that all the Field Size info’s for a table from Salesforce are wrong (they are always shown as a triple in size of the real value). So a salesforce field (like ShippingCity for example) that is 40 in size will show in Access as being 120 in size… This means that any field that is larger than 85 in size would no longer be a Short Text but suddenly becomes Long Text … This is causing a lot of issues and renders the connector useless (definitely when you are trying to do updates to salesforce)

I added some screenshots showing the problem very clear, wishing that I could report this to MS.

In the end we are now looking into third party solutions, how sad is that...

Regards

Peter

18 Replies

@DaneelsMedia Let's see if we can't get some attention to this. It may or may not be an Access issue, as you acknowledge, but it doesn't hurt to follow up as much as we can.