This Object was saved in an invalid format and cannot be read

Copper Contributor

Hello Everyone, 

Context:

I'm having a pretty concerning issue with my access database, was hoping to get some help (not sure if this is the right forum for this). I'm new to access, and in the last month I've spent quite a bit of time making a company access database for registering time sheets. I haven't split the database yet (I figured I'd wait until the database was more developed), The database is currently being opened by multiple computers over a shared network, one a time.

Problem:

After making some formatting changes to one of the forms (a process I've done many times), the access forms (this issue is only present on  2 out of the 4 reports on the database) throw an error that says "This Object was saved in an invalid format and cannot be read". It doesnt matter if I chose design mode, report mode, or just try and generate the report I get the same error, and cant edit, or access the form.

What's especially weird is that when I check the database on other computers it opens just fine, the reports print out. but when I tried editing the form on another computer and saving, I get the same error and the computer I edit on is then incapable of opening or printing the report.

additionally, If I try and open an archived/older version of the database (i've been saving versions of the database) I get the same error. 

Im stumped

Thanks so much for your time

Chris

6 Replies

@Chris_Amstutz 

This is, unfortunately, not uncommon. Not frequent but certainly it does happen.

That form is corrupted. Fortunately, it sounds like only that one form is bad. And two reports I guess?

It could be the entire accdb! That happens also.

So, recovery. Your backups appear to have been saved with the corruption already present in the form(s) and report(s). Bad, but not the end of the world.