SOLVED

Phantom Breakpoints in MS Access VBA

Copper Contributor

I've been using Access for better than 20 years at this point.  Only in the last few versions have I noticed this problem of "Phantom breakpoints."  This is where you'll be working on a module, or piece of VBA code behind a button, form, label, or other object, and you click the breakpoint little maroon circle out to the left of your code, and when you run the code it stops at that breakpoint.  It works great! 

The problem comes however when you try to un-check the maroon breakpoint - either by clicking it and it goes away, or by using the menu option "clear all breakpoints" - and then most of time time breakpoint will cease to stop the flow of the code.  Unfortunately it doesn't always go away.  Maybe 2 out of 10 times it will not really clear the breakpoint, and typically I don't find out about it until it's been distributed to the clients and I get a call that "Your application has stopped on that stupid yellow code thing again!"  If it only happened 1 out of 100 times, that would be something I could live with, but 20% of the time is move than I can bear.  Can someone people tell me of a cure for this problem?  Is it something Microsoft is aware of? 

Microsoft makes changes to the interface that involve the look of buttons, or the alternate row color setting on reports, which are nice I guess - I prefer the plain jane look of forms and reports, however You would think they would fix this bug before devoting time to making more "flash" for the interface.

-Breakpointed in Tampa

14 Replies

Yes, this is a known issue and had been brought to their attention in the past. There are numerous issues with each newer version of Access, just one more reason to stay with the tried, tested and true older versions!!

Feel free to send Microsoft your comments through the Feedback command in Access and also through access.uservoice.com

best response confirmed by isladogs (MVP)
Solution

@BrianDP222