Microsoft Access Question

Copper Contributor

Hi,

I am new to MS Access but have used other MS products for decades.  I am trying to figure out a solution to this problem.  I have 5 categories (with 1 to many locations associated to a category).  Each category can have 1 to many black out dates.  I want to run a query with a date to see which category(s) are not blacked out on that date.  So far i created 2 tables.  1 has the categories and location and the 2nd has the Black Out date(s) by category.  I linked the category between the 2 tables. When i run the query and say black out date not equal a given date, it doesn't show that row for that date, but does show it if there is another black out date associated with that category.  I think it has to do with the 1 to many relationship.  Anyone have an idea on how to solve this? Or is there a better way to approach it?

11 Replies
Hi Gary, hope all is well.

I am trying to replicate the database structure you've mentioned but would appreciate some more clarity, is this correct?...

2 tables, one containing "Category" as primary key and another "Location" field.
One containing "BlackOutDate" as primary key and another "Category" field.
You've linked "Category" fields together with a one-to-many relationship.

I don't believe this is your setup but would love to know more so I can replicate and help :)

Chris

@chrisgrahamdack 

Thanks for taking a look at this!!