How to use calculated field for a relationship (genus and species)?

Copper Contributor

I'm a GIS and data manager at a botanical garden and we have an Access database that stores accessions going back over 100 years in a table with over 20,000 records. These are the plants that are brought into the garden. There are also tables with inventory data, geographic data, etc.

The main accession table has fields for genus and species, and I need to join a table I downloaded from the Royal Botanical Garden in Kew, UK. It has information about every species of vascular plant. But the only common information is genus and species. The accessions table has these stored as two separate fields and the Kew table has them both separate and combined.

I thought I could just create a calculated field and use that to create a relationship, but I discovered you can't use a calculated field for a relationship. I found several forum threads where folks are adamant that this is something you shouldn't do even if it were possible.

OK, so I should be able to create a stored value field and calculate genus + " " + species into that field. Right? Wrong! It doesn't seem to be possible in Access like it is in GIS systems. I found threads where people ask about calculating a value from two other values entered in a form, and storing that as a separate field, and the responses are basically that you shouldn't do that and should instead use a calculated field.

OK, so it's not possible or recommended to do either method. How can I do the join that I need to do? I can just put everything into a geodatabase and do the calculations in ArcGIS Pro, but it would be nice to do my database management in the database software!

7 Replies

@LyonGIS Maybe create a relationship on two fields?

rbg.jpg

@XPS35thank you, that worked! I had no idea you could have a relationship based on two fields.